ElvisWorld: Barbara Leigh

King Mcqueen Love Machine

Barbara Leigh had a romance with Elvis Presley from 1970-2,  while he was also dating Joyce Bova (69-72) and married to Priscilla (69-73); although Priscilla met him in 1960, when he was in the Army and still dating Anita Wood.

Q: It didn’t bother you that Elvis often surrounded himself with women, and of course, he was still married to Priscilla?

Leigh: Elvis was the King, and a King has to have his harem, right? I didn’t think about him being married or about the many, many other women in his life. When we were together I tried living in the now. The ’70’s philosophy of “Be Here Now” by Ram Dass which, was a book that Elvis liked and so did I. It was a popular mantra of the day that professed to live only in the now. I never believed that I was the only girlfriend, and I accepted Elvis for the time we spent together. I was lucky enough to share with him and I never asked him any questions, and he did likewise. We didn’t ask any questions about other relationships because we knew what the answer would be. I took the bad with the good. The only time it bothered me was when I’d have to compete for his attention at the Vegas Hilton when beautiful girls were showing up and trying to steal the King’s heart in front of me. That was tough.

Q: As you mentioned before, you were already involved with James Aubrey and was about to embark on an affair with Steve McQueen. How did Elvis accept that?

Leigh: Elvis knew about Jim Aubrey because we met through “James,” but he admired Aubrey and looked up to him. The feeling was mutual because Jim liked Elvis and admired him, too. They were total opposites, it’s partly what attracted them to each other. Jim had the sophistication and charm of Ayan Rand’s Howard Rowark’s character from the “Fountainhead,” and Elvis had the genteel charm of a southerner. Elvis later found out about Steve McQueen when I was filming “Junior Bonner”in Prescott, Arizona. Elvis decided he wanted to visit me in Arizona, and it was an awkward moment. Elvis basically forced me to tell him that I was dating Steve, and living with him on location. Elvis and Steve were more alike in that they both came from nothing, and there was fierce competition between the two. Elvis referred to Steve as “that motorcycle hick” while Steve referred to Elvis as “that guitar hick.”

 

The Official Barbara Leigh Website

http://www.barbaraleigh.com/interview.htm

This entry was posted in Elvis Presley, Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ElvisWorld: Barbara Leigh

  1. Pingback: Elvis Girlfriends: Alicia Kerwin | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.