In development: A Queer in the Life Of

a free to play 10 minute video game, Life in Queer Mode

now that I have a sense of how the programming works and in your expert hands.

I have a sense of some scenarios based on my own past adventures and how to take a story and run it through variations to create multiple story points

the place to have started for you was probably this, and I had to work indirectly at it

Player enters game, they (option get to or don’t) is their first choice to see What Random LGBTQ2 or the rare three special characters they are

then, to keep it simple, owing to your making it future expandable

leave house – transport choice – walk, drive, bike. public transit,

morning routine depending on character, get to school or to work, meet friends for breakfast

early day

lunch

afternoon

evening social events

then the random encounters of someone to fight, flirt, avoid or kill them, plus be ignored, verbally harassed

so maybe we need ten mundane tasks, like getting household tasks, done to reinforce the mundane.

I had another thought, but I lost it, I will edit this, when it comes back around.

okay.. simplied queer day

morning
afternoon
evening
night

for the first release, if we have 15 options of events in each of the quarter days

5 good, 5 middling and 5 fatal for each

I am gonna memory mine some more, eh

game/flirtbook/workshop = volunteer (that’s the fun community think)

onno dooveModerator+1’It’s hard to be a hero’ Ninja Batman reference?
As for the game, that would seem like a manageable setup

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove nope. footloose.

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove thank you, I am trying to work towards you on the project. so we’re same page. eh

onno dooveModerator+1+Nina From Canada, eh With a bit of luck i’ll have a simple demonstration of showing different pictures by pressing keys this night… 🙂

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove okay, excellent, lead times and deliverables, eh.


onno dooveModerator+1+Nina From Canada, eh Simple script to show pictures by pressing number keys, expandable in lots of ways… 🙂



Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove watching it in a new tab; mind blown and we’re just starting.

onno dooveModeratorNow i know how to put screens on a monitor, the rest is just logic.

I propose adding functionality that can read a separate file where the story structure and names of the pictures are stored.

Once you can provide me with pictures and text, i’ll translate that into a script file that can be read depending on the randomly assigned character.

That way, once i’ve finished the basic game, we can easily add new stories and characters, sounds cool?

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove it sounds like one of the most amazing things that ever happened in my life actually, onno. gratitude is too small a word, eh

onno dooveModerator+1+Nina From Canada, eh Hehe, don’t put me on a pedestal, that’s a responsibility i’m not willing to take… 😉

Nahh, but seriously, it’s fun to do, i like solving and building stuff, it eases my mind…

Nina From Canada, eh+onno doove my pal, I fell off my pedestal so long ago that I have had to look up to see ground. I meet you on skype, as equals, with coffee.

Nina From Canada, eh+onno doove I am gonna copy all these interactions from the group to my blog so the development is all captured.

onno dooveModerator1dQuick guestion y’all…
Next week i want to start writing basic code for the game for testing and tinkering purposes.

What’s the minimum screen resolution you guys want me to project onscreen?

Nina From Canada, ehOwnerwell, the rule of the internet is to make people upgrade, but make it web 2.0 whatever that resolution, was, since the 4K, it is too high a resolution for emerging nations to access. everything graphic and video that I uploaded in web 1.0 and did for web looks crappy now.


one of the events

Nina From Canada, eh
on November 1 at 2:30 I saw a young man in a moose costume, doing either an afternoon walk of shame after halloween or 12 days early for christmas, eh

The Armchair Spaceman
+1
maybe he’s a furry, and felt safe the day after halloween 😀

Nina From Canada, eh
you know, he did not smirk and he bowed his face, but now that you mention it, he was not ashamed. but I am for not having thought of that, but I was driving with my Mom, so Last Halloween Walk of Shamed was as far as my thought process went. Lol. well done.

variations on the theme – refractable event options, any event, three options to advance?



I want to run a true life story of mine by you and you tell me how it breaks down into a script.

I was walking on Granville Street in Vancouver, 1992 with my Lesbro James, who was also my heterosexual roommate. We were heading to the video arcade to play street fighter.

Ahead of us, there was a group of 6 16 year old catholic school girls.

James stopped walking because this was his fetish, and he was 19. so seriously, no big deal.

Anyway, as it happened, one of the girls was a daughter of a former employer of mine, who I had least seen at the age of 12, when her father fired me for being a lesbian (legal in Canada at that time)

anyway, I did not recognize her at 16 and I looked at James and he started shivering because what he saw was one of the girls running towards out, hands outstretched, healthcliff on the moores, his fave spank bank on the street ,right?

anyway, I hear my name, so I turn around and I am being hugged by a catholic school girl student in uniform to the astonishment of her friends on the street.

We are different ethnic demographics as well.

When I realized who she was, I hugged her, her parents had divorced and I had been a mentor to her, and so we caught up and she went off with her friends and James and I off to the arcade, his mood was you can guess.

when we skype I will tell you the Thursday 4:45 Nina Gets Fired From an Adult Video Distribution Company Story.

onno dooveModeratorRead it, thinking about it!

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+The Armchair Spaceman +Butch Babe +Joan Poh thought you all might find this as funny, eh

onno dooveModerator+1So far i can’t come up with branches for variable outcomes to this story, i’ll have to defer to you, i’m afraid…

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove okay, now I know how to pull the base story apart, maybe the kid gets hit by a car, maybe she grabbed the guy or the girl ,or maybe, the player is one and they grab her?

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove each scenario is a pass to next or fail and end game.

onno dooveModerator+1Ahh, that’s makes it a lot easier structurally, you would basically have a linear sequence with a per-page branch to a fail… That easy to set up on my end.

Most of the work would be for you guys;

– Writing a sequence of ‘scenes’
– Writing a per-scene ‘fail-page’
– Coming up with artwork per page

Code-wise i could build the main loop in about a day or 2/3.

Any idea about what screen resolution you’d like me to build it for? It also should be able to run on smaller monitors…

onno dooveModeratorTo show you i’m legit, here’s the code for a program i wrote for a webdeveloper in California, it moves through a directory tree and optimizes all picture files;

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove I am very flattered that you think I can follow that. lol. above my pay grade, Lesbro.

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove this one I can work with, thank you, most kindly

so, we need to set out the character data fields

Name, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, age that group members can fill in with their photo or drawing submission

https://dykewriter.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/writering-characters-rpg-acting/Writering Characters & RPG Acting

onno dooveModerator+1Hehe, i’m not gonna rewrite the very first Fallout for ya… 😉

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove nope, just blanked out on what tombstone character data would be and mostly, just that I guess. it’s been a while since I made a form to fill, no more than 6 character attributes – age, gender, lgbtq2 spectrum position..

onno dooveModerator+1Sounds good! We’re not going to build a full-fledged RPG, so just enough info to drive the narrative… 🙂

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove no, we are not, it’s a 10 minute playthrough at max.. maybe 5 would be more reasonable. about 50 scenarios that any playthrough would pull any 10 and a random character?

onno dooveModerator+1You mean 10 possible stories per character?

The way i want to set this up, we could add scenarios on a case by case basis.

So i suggest; come up with a character, create an interactive scenario for that character, implement it, adjust randomizer when next character is added.

It would make for easier testing since you’ d quickly get results… 🙂


Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove okay that helps me to understand how it works so I can figure how how many of what data type to plug in. we should skype again so you can explain it to me, and I can focus on listening. it might actual work better to type parts here, that way, the group is understanding what is going on and I can see what I am not understanding from your explanations, and then adjust to what I learned about my assumptions, and I can re-word so my questions are more understandable – I am trying to be a better tech client, eh.

onno dooveModerator+1I’ll send you a technical design proposal in a couple of days, might be handy for you to get some documentation…

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove yay more paperwork, kidding, this will be fun. and actually I got some excellent feedback today on the entire concept that I will share our next skype with coffee!

can you do a capture of me in the blue housecoat for a femme character and the one of me as the newspaper kid for a butch one?

that is another link. lemme grab it – I set up a category line item and want to get it started

I really appreciated the meeting today and the brainstorming these two days, gratitude.

Nina The Gen X Dyke from Canada, eh.

Oh, this was a costume party at a swanky location for a film industry party

the theme was Film Noir and most women just went summer evening wear and I am dressed as The Nosy Landlady and, out of the photo, I am wearing purple fuzzy slippers and there was not a woman there was wasn’t jealous, eh.

https://dykewriter.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/raw-recovery-process-double-tv-character-feature-christine-willes/Raw Recovery Process: Double TV Character feature: Christine Willes

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+onno doove thanks, i posted this when I was still on facebook one time and the first gal in the image, Megan, once commented that she hardly wore that dress anymore, and I said, that’s too bad, I often wear my housecoat.

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+***** this is me making fun of the femme side of life, the party was at a fancy mansion and the costume theme was Film Noir, so I did the nosey landlady, complete with purple fuzzy slippers, every woman in heels was jealous.2w

Nina From Canada, eh's profile photo

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+***** did the tag work?2w

Nina From Canada, eh's profile photo

Nina From Canada, ehOwner+Butch Babe the “femme” one, I did this is annoy the chair of the event. and it worked, she walked up to me, sitting with the women getting awards who were getting dressed, who were jealous of my costume so, when the event chair said, “nina, as a board member you need to get into your costume and be out there mingling”, so I finished putting on that lipstick and the picture does not do it justice, and said “this is my costume”


this is the Roaring twenties picture, …

Photo


This entry was posted in Zeitgeist Analytics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In development: A Queer in the Life Of

  1. dykewriter says:

    Nina From Canada, eh
    Owner
    +onno doove I am gonna copy all these interactions from the group to my blog so the development is all captured.
    35m
    onno doove’s profile photo
    onno doove
    Moderator+1
    Good plan! I need all the input i can get!
    34m
    onno doove’s profile photo
    onno doove
    Moderator+1
    Equals sounds just fine!
    16m
    Nina From Canada, eh’s profile photo
    Nina From Canada, eh
    +onno doove we have a 50/50 profit share, eh.

    Like

  2. dykewriter says:

    footnote:
    Nina From Canada, eh
    so.. are actual lesbians in this group
    or has it just turned into a lesbian fan club?

    The word “Lesbro” is a term of friendzone affection between lesbians and heterosexual men. It is the complete opposite of the Fag/Fag Hag relationship.

    Like

  3. dykewriter says:

    onno doove
    Moderator+1
    Nahh, i can already sustain myself, i work for positive feedback and the dopamine shot of getting something to work… 🙂
    6h
    Nina From Canada, eh’s profile photo
    Nina From Canada, eh
    Owner
    +onno doove not just work, but something that actually matters, eh
    5h
    onno doove’s profile photo
    onno doove
    Moderator+1
    Yup! The trifecta of cool stuff… 😉
    5h
    Nina From Canada, eh’s profile photo
    Nina From Canada, eh
    +onno doove the best things are not monetized, eh.

    Like

  4. dykewriter says:

    onno doove
    Moderator+1
    On a side note; i succeeded in also reading the width and height of the pictures from a file, that means we could use different resolutions per story screen. Another thing learned… 🙂
    10m
    Nina From Canada, eh’s profile photo
    Nina From Canada, eh
    +onno doove now that is interesting, because that makes it more portable across formats, but also, adds an interesting possibility… maybe in a later edition we can add in the idea of what decade it is even and alters the fatality percentage accordingly.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Queer in the Life Meets WingDyke: the video game. eh | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.