Social Media is Software – People are Hard

I attended 1 elementary school, 3 high schools, 1 college, 1 university and 1 technical school. However, I have undertaken a wide range of certificate programs or courses of adult workplace education. So Continuous Learning, eh.

People: Types and Sorting Them..MyFaceLinkSpacedIn. Seeders and Leechers.

not being on facebook has been beneficial – no more blur of abused animals, sick kids, Woobots.

but, it’s also been a loss of a social network, my pen pals in the UK and Australia. phone calls and snail mail still connect us, so real friendships are possible from online

I worry about my pen pals in Kenya and Rwanda and other African nations that I gave activist advise to and proof that social movements can work and societies can change.

But I am not tempted to go back into the cacophony of facebook.

Before there was social media – there were public forums – bulletin boards – in fact BBS were before webpages. HTML….

I have left zoetrope.com. A peer artist site that I have been a member of for over a decade and am the most prolific reviewer there, writing, graphics and music subboards.

I tried to create something special and I did a post to apologize to a particular person.

It was very moving between the two of us.

However, someone else decided to be funny and took a pot shot at me, and then suddenly I was the bad guy and that shooter was a good guy.

well. good guys don’t take shots and when good guys hurt someone, they take responsiblity for the harm caused and done.

not withdraw into a self defense and have others defend them.

meaning, I did something nice.

I was put down for doing it.

I was told I was wrong to be upset at being put down.

so social media. it’s not people, it’s software.

maybe someday there will be an app for manners.

one year ago today, Nathan Cirillo was killed in Ottawa in an attack on our Parliament

19c47d92b43d7c20b7753c36504f7052 75296f2d978897e80b1a6ad74fffc906 254383078922294009QX7hQmPDc oscar-wilde-quotes-quotations-Nowadays-people-know-the-price-of-everything-and-the-value-of-nothing

This entry was posted in Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.