WebWorld – What to do when social media isn’t?

I have hit the acceptance part of being ejected from Facebook.

apparently, having maintained an account from 2007 to 2015, managing 5 groups and providing unique content is not proof of being human.

Which is apparently only auto clicking to grinder through games and eyeball adverts.

 

Anyway, I guess I will have to find another social media site.

What I am sort of at a loss about is being on line at all.

I wasn’t geeky enough to be part of the early internet when it was US Military and Universities. The idea of file sharing and flame warring with strangers wasn’t yet anything people considered social.

But I did enjoy Web 1.0.

All the fonts, Red Dwarf sound clips and gamer gab. Discographies of fave artists to use as a checklist. Endless drilled down fan data tediously and pedantically documented.

I had a few webpages. One for my comics, 2 others for photos, a Rocky Horror Picture Show Fansite and one for the Sims Game. My fave one was the one that was about the products and toys from the 1980s miniseries V.

Oh, and the Lesbian Flirting article that I turned into a website and then in Web 2.0 I eventally blogged.

I actually had my own url for a while. http://www.lavenderproductions.com

Web 1.0 was about content and Web 2.0 is about people.

I liked the web before people were the content.

I get multicultural and literacy but I dislike this hieroglyphic system lacking symbolism to connect back to it’s function.

 

People never used e-mail properly. in the early web people used the BCC function to prevent spammers getting accounts.

 

it comes from business letters, which email replaced.

 

to: person or people who need to be aware of the contents

cc (carbon copy) to people who need to be aware that the “TO” people have been advised, and people see the distribution.

 

bcc (blind carbon copy) – to people who need to be aware of the others, but not the other way around.

 

carbon copy – in the days of typewriters, you put a paper and a sheet with carbon and another paper so that you got 2 copies for the price of typing it 1 time.

 

In computer days. you just print how many you need and you get to spellcheck on the fly. So much for WPM typing tests, eh?

 

Anyway, one day, I was working in the Federal Government and a Private Sector Company Owner, that I had hired to do a one time job, emailed me and invited me out for a lunch.

To him, this was just a business networking thing and the chance for more government work.

But I was not going to mislead him.

I replied to him and BCC’ed my Manager; I thanked him for the kind offer and explained that I was not able to accept the invitation. Acknowledged his company’s job well done. Then: Send. I didn’t give it a second thought.

 

10 minutes later, my manager came out of his office with a weird look on his face. Sort of amused but also stunned.

 

“In all my decades in government, I never understood what BCC was for, until your email, just now.”

 

This entry was posted in Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WebWorld – What to do when social media isn’t?

  1. Pingback: How Newspapers Lost to the Internet | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

  2. Pingback: Web 2.0:Provided Content to Being It | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.