LezFlirt: Blowing the Meet Cute

When Harry Met Sally

Meg Ryan gives the best on-screengasm since Jane Fonda looked at her watch and moaned “Oh my” in Klute.

When Harry Met Sally is about a guy and a gal who meet each other, don’t get along, become friends and eventually they do it.

It also was one of the best of the Normal Person with the Weird Sidekick – which later reversed to the crazy one with the normal friends and into the current, all as an aspect of the one.

Anyway – I went to three different high Schools.

I came out at 23 years of age and had not experimented during college, despite having gone to SFU aka Super Feminist University on the hill more usually known as Simon Fraser University.

So in my early twenties I was in line at the Lesbian Bar – The Lotus – for the bathroom.

Someone tapped my shoulder and it was a gorgeous woman with India ancestry.

She said “I know you did you go to UBC?”

“SFU…..Kwantlen college?” I said hopefully, trying to not stammer.

She shook her head and something familar about that shake of hair…..

“Nope. Douglas”

in unions

“PRINCESS MARGARET SECRETARY!”

then I remembered her.

she’d been part of a Princess Clique of 4 and I was too pale to be pals with them.

“Yeah, I tried to be friends with you then.”

I turned my back on her and waited my turn in line. 5 ahead of me and there was only 3 stalls.

from 7 back from me, someone shouted

“There’s a real line out here, there better not be sex going on!”

This entry was posted in Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.