Multi-Lingual Englishes, eh.

Politics Briefing: British leaders suspend campaign in wake of tragedy: Also: B.C. recount continues; Trudeau off to Europe; and Trump in Israel
Politics Briefing: British leaders suspend campaign in wake of tragedy
Politics Briefing: British leaders suspend campaign in wake of tragedy
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
    +1
    can they cancel the election?

 

  • Carlton Oneal's profile photo
    +2
    British government knew everyone should have been searched before walking into AREA near buildings! British government,with European governments- –carelessness!
  • tariq Ali's profile photo
    +2
    I am very very sad
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    yeah cos that’s how it works. Not.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    why?
  • Justin A. Wilson's profile photo
    +6
    I condemn extremism and terrorism, my thoughts are with the victims of the Manchester city UK concert attack and calls for investigation and prosecution of inclination of this evil against humanity. European children cannot be intimidated by barbarians and people with monster ideologies. The world deserve better than terror. love is always stronger than hate.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
     I was looking for a yes or no reply to my inquiry. I do not understand your response.
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
    +1
    if this was American news, there’d be Black Flag conspiracy claims, since that is kind of a conservative tactic, keeping the population in fear; and deniers that the event even happened.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    +2
     no. Why should we halt the democratic process at the behest of a terrorist? Our tribute to the dead and injured is to continue to be a free sovereign state, unafraid and refusing to hate.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    +1
    #NoHateNoFear#Manchester#LancashirePride it’s not American news. It’s our news.

 

  • G.I. Joe's profile photo
    British governament are idiots and all s3cret fuking services ……take some action against bastards .. stupid english law ……
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
    +1
     I was not saying it should, I want to see them thrown out and Brexit stopped, the news story seemed to be reporting a ploy by the party to me.
     I’m Canadian. the internet is international
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    +G.I. Joe​ thanks…still got a big crater in NYC? Hope that’s not too soon…which your comment actually is.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    I know. Other nations don’t seem to grasp the concept of giving us time to mourn or respect. I guess that’s the consequence of its international nature.
    Every keyboard hero seems to know what we should have done/need to do next. Trust us, we’ve got this.
    what’s it to you about Brexit if you’re Canadian? In fact so Canadian that you don’t understand that the Government won’t be “thrown out”?
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
     The Party of the Day is not The Government, which is the civil service. and in Canada, the tory party ended with the Mulroney/Kim Campbell, leaving the Liberals as the last Westminster party standing, because all the others are Canadian political parties, with bleedover into the American parties. Because with the UK leaving Europe, it’s Canada who is your nation to the American market and backdoor into Europe.
    that stiff upper lip thing only goes so far, eh.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    we respect our ally, Canada, as a full member of the Commonwealth and a steadfast friend.
    However, your understanding of British politics is sincerely flawed. Our Government is composed of two houses, one elected, one appointed. The civil service carries out the wishes of HM Govt. Currently, the Conservative Party is in government and will remain so as long as there is no coherent progressive opposition (which there isn’t)
    Brexit was the choice of a majority of the British people. Personally, I voted against it but democracy being what it is, the majority carry the day.
     I’ve spent all day dealing with the aftermath of this horrible incident in my job. Listening to no marks bumping their gums about my beautiful, amazing country from their positions of collective ignorance just about gets my goat. So, no, the old upper lip isn’t as stiff as you might expect. We’re in mourning FFS
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
     
    yes, the things you have said that I did not do not make any sense. at no time did I suggest I was an expert, I asked a question about an article and you went off on a tangent, and given the circumstances, is understandable.
  • G.I. Joe's profile photo
    you tell me if I’m wrong , how many ter. att. was in this country in last few year ??? it is so fuking hard to change a law about terrorism an put all those bastards who holds a black flags especially in london fo fuking 50 years. why not ? it is a fuking threat for country ….fuck all human rights organizations who defend those. bastards …..democracy and freedom is for English and European people not for monkey who came here fro trees with coran in his bags ……I can tell you what !!TOO MUCH FREEDOM FOR PEOPLE WHO DON’T DESERVE IT !!! that’s what it is in England …….
  • Norma Rollo's profile photo
    I know your job involves this sort of situation. Didn’t realise you would be brought into this one not being on your patch so to speak. Harrowing for you I am sure.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    +G.I. Joe two. Thanks for playing.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    thanks for your understanding.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    can’t talk about it too much but, yes, it is on our patch too.
  • G.I. Joe's profile photo
    You welcome bro, I totally support English society against bastards ….I just don’t really understand why English society still. sleeping and don’t want to see the reality! ?1?!!
  • Lion heart's profile photo

    and your perspective is clearer?

    There is no such thing as too much freedom. Check Benjamin Franklin’s take on freedom and security.
  • (skipped over group of trolls)
  • Lion heart's profile photo

    +2
    Come on, people, try having some respect

 

  • Steven Hacker's profile photo
    respect ok get the fuck out of my country take those fucking things off your heads quit trying to be a lionheart or capt save a ho
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    my country, my wounded, my dead. Get off it. There’s no room for hate. Only for courage. I spent today at work dealing with this incident. As I do every time. Respect is about understanding that there’s more in this world than your own interests.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
     
    some of the things British Muslims were wearing over the last 24 hours were paramedic uniforms, surgeon’s scrubs, nurses uniforms and police uniforms. Where were you, one wonders.
  • it’s you that makes me sick to my stomach. You are as bad as that wanker last night. You hate without thought, without reason because it’s all you know how to do. And you think I should grow up.
    Come back when you’re part of the solution, not part of the problem
  • +Steven Hacker sleep well. It’s the likes of me who are keeping people safe.
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
     you realize that this is a Canada Newspaper, eh?
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
     You are welcome, I am a former Federal Emergency Preparedness Official.
  • Lion heart's profile photo
    I hear that. It’s what I do. Thank you.
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
    Serious respect, colleague; I can no longer do what you do.

 

 

next day

 

  • Lion heart's profile photo
    no offence meant. I meant what I said about our ally, Canada.

    I didn’t know this was a Canadian newspaper, it just appeared on my G+ feed. My ignorance.
    Yesterday, I was angry. Today, I’m going back to try to ensure we respond as well as we can. There are still folks unaccounted for. The work continues.
    Many thanks for your kindness here.
  • Nina Tryggvason's profile photo
    no worries at all, no offense taken. You are under exceptional circumstances and still squashing net-trolls.

 

 

This entry was posted in Canada, Emergency Preparedness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

