Elvis Week vs Black Lives Matter

Have you been keeping up with our Elvis Week daily recaps? Don’t forget to look for those, check out the photo gallery and read our Elvis Week blog, written by Jon Waterhouse – all at Graceland.com.

Graceland

Shared publicly  –  Yesterday 5:32 PM

Have you been keeping up with our Elvis Week daily recaps? Don’t forget to look for those, check out the photo gallery and read our Elvis Week blog, written by Jon Waterhouse – all at Graceland.com.http://bit.ly/2aMByAv

Nina Trygg

Yesterday 6:12 PM
what’s being done to negotiate with the Black Lives Matter group?

+Nina Trygg I was wonderin about that too Nina…

+Janey C BLM caused an hour long delay to the Toronto Queer Pride Parade that our Prime Minister Trudeau 2.0 was attending as an historic world first…I am horrified to think that the events of 1977, when that guy drove into the grieving crowd took 2 teenaged girl fans lives. not to mention the heat wave… more generally…
Show less

sometimes I wonder, if Elvis had been a police office on the memphis force, how the city of Memphis might have been different. he would have changed attitudes inside of the force and maybe it would not have taken until the 1970s for progess on the ethnic and gender fronts…
+Nina Trygg I don’t look for the Elvis fans to accept these protesters very well…

+Janey C yeah. it’s a funny thing. when I was at Graceland in 1987, I was with my Aunt – who is blind – and it shocked and depressed me that people thought I was an amazing teenager for bringing my 30 something year old aunt and I told them that she was the one who won the radio contest and brought me.. I would have hoped that people took the lesson of Elvis to heart and saw each other as people.
Show less

+Nina Trygg Yes…people are “very quick” to judge others I’m sorry you had that experience.

+Janey C what I remember the most was being at a 7-11 store (I worked that that chain myself in my 20s). I waited for my turn and asked the clerk for change for the payphone, I handed him a $5 bill and asked for 4 quarters and 4 two dollar bills. the entire store got quiet and I became aware of being the only white person in the place. a young woman behind me said, “Where are you from Ma’am?” it took me a moment to remember US currency and said “canada”.
related on this blog:

“Black Lives Matter” vs Pride Parade

www.biwa.ne.jp/~presley/jpg/20160815-Kobe.jpg

see also

RCMP v Women: Class Action

 

This entry was posted in Elvis Presley, Emergency Preparedness, Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elvis Week vs Black Lives Matter

  1. Pingback: Elvis Death Day: Black Lives Matter | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

  2. Pingback: When Apologies are not Enough | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

  3. Pingback: America’s Uncivil War | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a Reply

