Queer Community Lessons for Atheists

Secular Community – what a strange concept to have to name, what is supposed to be the default of the public square.

Multi-cultural ism means everyone gets an equal voice in public.

The right to self expression, which is done with clothes and adornments.

Today, I drove my Mom to the Safeway Grocery store and in the line up, I laughed at one of the magazines, “Katie Holmes is not dating, see why inside”

There was a Millennial Aged White Guy beside me and his purchases were on the conveyor belt in front of my and my Mom was on my other side chatting with the cashier.

So, I asked him, “I know she’s monied, but, would you really want to date someone who’d been married to Tom Cruise and declared herself cult free, as if Scientology and Catholic were all at different?”

He laughed and the Cashier, also Millennial Aged, laughed. Sitcom laughtrack or comedy club laugh level laughed.

The Social Truism of the Conformist Era is to not discuss three things:

  1. Religion – emotional subjectivism – zero sum, no win.
  2. Politics – emotional value clashes – zero sum, no win
  3. Sex – lies, why bother if you are not being invited?

And, in Canada, money.

 

So, like with queers, people of no religion, come from all demographics, and being visible and vocal is the only way to signal to another: you are not alone, eh.

 

I glanced down at his purchases, the cake was a bright primary colour wash and the words

“Happy 3rd birthday Zayah”

He was trying to stutter or sputter an answer, and I said “Ah, you’re a Daddy and you are not dating.”

He beamed a broad proud smile.

“Zayah, that’s a new name on me, wish her happy birthday.”

 

This entry was posted in Canada, Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Queer Community Lessons for Atheists

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Goid post Nina♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • dykewriter says:

      Thank you most kindly! Gosh. Thank you very much (<- in my Best Elvis) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        I could have spelt it right!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • dykewriter says:

        Lol, I thought you were writing in accent for .. effect affect impact… implied and inferred. 🙂 …. Comedies of manners, eh? I, ah, I have nervous stutter and I used to to dictatyping, so. Also, there are so many versions of English, it’s likely that there’s a dialect that it would be correct in eh?

        Liked by 1 person

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        Haha! I wish! Just dumb auto fone correction

        Liked by 1 person

      • dykewriter says:

        Ah, I use that to blame for mis-spellings, also dyslexia, which I thought that I had, but it seems that I don’t the more I have read up on it. I learned to spell in the Phonetic Era of teaching and so, I just can’t spell. 🙂 I have spent much time doing Canadian vs American English over documents that all the versions just blur to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        I can’t spell great but mostly it’s messy fone changes 😦

        Like

  2. Pingback: Creationists: the Eyes Have it | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

  3. Pingback: Words, Pictures and Pictures of Words | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

  4. Pingback: 420 in Vancouver BC Canada, eh | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a Reply

