Call me coward

thank you for helping me find my courage as a queer in Canada,

a reminder of who we are in the world, people who have as much right to exist and live as much as everyone else – and it’s the people who don’t want to work, play and live well with others who are the problem.

ethiopian homo

Although it has been out since 2012, I finally summoned the necessary courage to watch Call Me Kuchu, a documentary about the struggle for queer rights in Uganda. I knew it would be a difficult film to watch – the story of our African queer activists rarely ends well.

I remember the brutal murder of queer activist David Kato five years ago. I remember the passage of the “kill the gays” bill. I remember the large number of people who marched on the streets of Uganda in support of the bill. I vividly remember the newspaper that printed on its front page pictures and names of supposed homos with a simple message: “Hang them!” I remember that I followed the news as if my life depended on it.

But yet … I selfishly wanted a reprieve from re-remembering.

Watching the documentary, I think of my inability to live openly as…

View original post 258 more words

This entry was posted in Zeitgeist Analytics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Call me coward

  1. Pingback: When a Girl Buys TechnoGadgets | Nina's Soap Bubble Box

Leave a Reply

