Dear Bear Family Records: Sissyman Blues

Noises by Nina the DJ

When I was a DJ on Simon Fraser University’s student campus radio, in the 1990s, I often played a cd called “Sissyman Blues”. It was a collection of 1920s and 30s American Black Lesbians and Gay Men.

CJIV DJ show board

I was been unable to find anything online about this cd and the only record that I even have of it is because I cassette recorded most of my radio broadcasts.

 

Can you shed any light or point me to a collection?

 

I vaugle recall that there was a woman singer and the song used the slang of the time

 

“would anyone here like to try my cabbage?”

 

Nina's DJ Days Cassette Archive

 

I do have a number of cassettes of my radio shows where the songs are included and one show, I did play the entire album so I could tape it.

 

Funny I used to do theme shows – once doing a show of only songs with the word “baby” in the title – what a mix of genres that was!

 

and another I interviewed a Canadian Punk Band called Little Green Men on the day the Shuffle Demons played the campus. So it was an interview with a band for the radio and then photos for the paper of the concert!

 

making the best of the college experience, eh?

 

 

later in community volunteering – I did an interview with Canadian writer David Watmough on his 20th novel.

 

and I recorded the Vancouver Show of the final Texas US Lesbian Folk Band – Two Nice Girls.

 

Newsie Nina - David Watmough Interview Two Nice Girls Vancovuer Concert cassette

 

updated 2016

Sissy Man Blues: 25 Authentic Straight & Gay Blues & Jazz Vocals

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Zeitgeist Analytics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Bear Family Records: Sissyman Blues

  1. Pingback: Moving Movies: Queen Latifah Does Bessie | dyke writer

Leave a Reply

